CROWN OF THORNS

reflections on Christ - crucifixion

It has been so windy here in Papillion the last several weeks and it has not been uncommon to have wind gusts of 50 miles per hour.  Along with the wind comes blowing trash.  Plastic bags, paper towels, insulation and foam.  Add in garbage and recyclables on trash pickup day and things could be considered a mess.  My wife and I had noticed how these items have accumulated at the five entrances of our subdivision.  Knowing the wind was going to pick up again today, after church and lunch I went ahead and still changed clothes with the intent to cleanup what I could.

The fact that the majority of the trash appeared to be plastic garage bags should have been my first sign.  Because as I stopped at the first entrance, I soon discovered very thorny rose bushes.  And I, not thinking clearly and wanting to get done as quickly as I could, decided I didn’t need gloves.  Boy, was that a mistake!  After picking up a full garbage bag of trash, my hands were sore, pricked many times from the thorns of many rose bushes and dripping with blood.

As I looked at my hands, I was reminded again of the thorns.  But this time, a crown of thorns.  A crown of thorns thrust and forced into someone’s scalp.  Thorns capable of severely irritating major nerve endings in the head, causing excruciating pain.  Thorns causing blood to flow, dripping down the face.  That someone was Jesus.

Jesus, a living man, died on a cross, with a crown of thorns on His head, for me.  But why?

GOD created us to be with Him

OUR sins separate us from God

SINS cannot be removed by good deeds

PAYING the price for sins, Jesus died – for me, for you, for all mankind.  But HE ROSE from the Dead!

EVERYONE who trusts in Him alone has eternal life 

LIFE with Jesus starts NOW and lasts FOREVER

If you don’t know who this Jesus person is, I would be happy to tell you more.  The minor pain I felt today was nothing compared to the pain Jesus suffered – for all of us.  It will always be a reminder to me of His unconditional love.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “CROWN OF THORNS

  1. Awesome! Thanks for posting this. What a blessing. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

