Painter of Light

I don’t believe I have any true hobbies, but I do have many things that interest me.  One of these is art – including photography and painting. 

I have always enjoyed watching Bob Ross on “The Joy of Painting” on the Public Television station.  Bob is famous for his landscape scenes – and of course – his trees.  Bob would always add big trees as borders to his mountain scenes to create depth.  Or paint in a little abandoned cabin along the shore of a lake.  He had such a calming voice and although he has passed away, his show continues to air on television and streams online.  It would be great to be able to paint like Bob.

Bob also provided some words of wisdom while he painted.  One of his most famous was:

“We don’t make mistakes – we just have happy accidents”

Life is something that is not an accident by any means.  I look around and am amazed by the beauty of God’s creation that I see daily and the places I have visited.  My favorite vacation spot is in Wyoming to the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone.  The natural beauty of the mountains and valleys and lakes and wildlife would be hard to explain without personally visiting there.  I know that these things were created by God – and to think that he breathed them into existence is beyond my comprehension.  They were definitely not an accident, nor are any of us human beings living on this vibrant planet.

For those that live in the Omaha area, we are greeted with awesome sunrises each morning and are bid goodnight when the sun sets in brilliant glows of orange and pink.  The next time you see a painted landscape or scenic photograph, or a colorful sunrise or sunset, let that serve as a reminder of our wonderful Creator and Painter of Life.

Papillion Sunrise

And in the words of Bob Ross – “Well, the little clock on the wall says we’re just about out of time. God bless you my friend.”

Leave a comment